Orion Book Award

OBA 2015 logoEach spring, the Orion Book Award is presented to books that deepen the reader’s connection to the natural world, represent excellence in writing, and that we believe Orion readers will enjoy. The award has been conferred annually since 2007.


The five fiction finalists for the 2015 Orion Book Award are:


TheBees_coverimgThe Bees, by Laline Paull (Ecco)






DivineAnimal_coverimgDivine Animal, by Scott Russell Sanders (Earth Works Publishing)






InvisibleBeasts_coverimgInvisible Beasts, by Sharona Muir (Bellevue Literary Press)






Love and Drowning_coverimgThe Land of Love and Drowning, by Tiphanie Yanique (Riverhead Books)






LongMan_coverimgLong Man, by Amy Greene (Alfred A. Knopf)







The five nonfiction finalists are:


CountryCalledChildhood_coverimgA Country Called Childhood, by Jay Griffiths (Counterpoint)






Feral_coverimgFeral, by George Monbiot (The University of Chicago Press)






SixthExctinction_coverimgThe Sixth Extinction, by Elizabeth Kolbert (Henry Holt and Company)






Windfall_coverimgWindfall, by McKenzie Funk (The Penguin Press)






Zoologies_coverimgZoologies, by Alison Hawthorne Deming (Milkweed Editions)





The winner of each category will be announced in the second week of June. Previous winning books include MaddAddam, by Margaret Atwood (2014, fiction), Sightlines, by Kathleen Jamie (2014, nonfiction), Apocalyptic Planet, by Craig Childs (2013), The View from Lazy Point, by Carl Safina (2012), Insectopedia, by Hugh Raffles (2011), and The Zookeeper’s Wife: A War Story, by Diane Ackerman (2008).

The Orion Book Award recognizes books published in North America during the previous calendar year. Selection of the winners and finalists is made by the Orion staff, and the staff endeavors to surface and consider every book that is eligible for the award. However, we welcome recommendations—from authors, publishers, agents, and readers—for books we should be sure to consider.

Recommendations can be sent to questions@orionmagazine.org. Galleys and review copies can be submitted for consideration to our office at:

187 Main Street
Great Barrington, MA 01230

If you submit a galley or review copy, it will automatically be considered for the award. No other formal application is needed.

More information about previous Orion Book Award winners and finalists is available here.